Home > About OKHR > Recognition / Awards

Recognition / Awards


Oklahoma Excellence in Human Resources Award Winners

This award (presented annually at the Oklahoma Human Resources State Conference) is given to recognize and honor outstanding achievement in the field of Human Resource Management. The award signifies a professional who demonstrates the SHRM mission of "STP – Serving the HR Professional" and "ATP – Advancing the Profession." Candidates should be viewed as role models for the profession, leaders rather than followers, who apply and share their professional expertise and leadership both within and ouside of the organization."

2013 - Laura Moxley, SPHR

Portrait of Laura Moxley Laura Moxley is the Founder and President of Your HR Resource headquartered in Norman, Oklahoma. Laura obtained a BA in Journalism, cum laude from the University of Oklahoma in 1991. She earned the national certification of SPHR – Senior Professional of Human Resources from the Human Resource Certification Institute. Her business specializes in Employee Relations, Compliance, Employee Complaint Investigations, Employee Handbooks, Sexual Harassment Training, Hiring-Terminating Training, and Health & Wellness Benefits. She is a charter member of the Sooner Chapter – SHRM and Immediate Past-Director of the Oklahoma State Council for Human Resource Management. Laura was recognized for her service outside of the human resource field as a member of the State Chamber of Oklahoma HR & Labor Law Committee and the Education & Workforce Development Committee. She represents human resources as a member of the Governor’s Council for Workforce & Economic Development. Laura was recognized for her role as State Director of OKHR by establishing an organizational budget, creating a system to store corporate records in digital form, updating and refreshing the organization’s brand to OKHR, introducing Social Media to the Council and improving communications within the Council and with outside organizations. Laura worked to establish a partnership with the Potts Family Foundation to support objectives for family friendly business practices and is currently a strong advocate working to facilitate the introduction in Oklahoma of the Alfred P. Sloan Award for Excellence in Workplace Effectiveness and Flexibility. Laura is a frequent speaker on HR subjects to groups around the state and clients in multiple states. In 2010, Laura was named as one of “50 Making a Difference” by the Journal Record’s Woman of the Year program.

2012 - Christy Ptak, SPHR
2011 - Melanie Thompson Stillinger, SPHR
2010 - Gayle L. Barrett, J.D.
2009 - Charles Middleton, PHR
2008 - Glenda Owen, PHR
2008 - Candia Fields, PHR
2007 - Kirk Turner, JD
2006 - Julie Callahan, PHR
2005 - No Winner
2004 - Pat Beck, SPHR
2003 - Bill Young, SPHR
2002 - Bill Webb, SPHR

Citation Award

The (IAWP) International Association for Workforce Professionals—Oklahoma Chapter has selected the OKHR association as the 2010 winner for the prestigious Citation Award. The association was selected for their support and promotion of workforce development programs in the state of Oklahoma during the calendar year of 2009.

The award was given because of the association and its chapters support of workforce development programs through their monthly chapter meetings throughout the year and during the 2009 State HR Conference.  The Oklahoma Chapter will present awards to the association and other winners in other categories during our chapter’s Spring Convention in Durant April 28 – 30th.

"I want to say again how very much I appreciate the Oklahoma State Council for HR Management and its local HR chapters. Together, we will build Oklahoma’s Human Capital for today and tomorrow!"

Glenda Owen, PHR, CWDP, Chief of Workforce Services, Oklahoma Employment Security Commission, Awards Chair for the IAWP Oklahoma Chapters

State Council Champion

SHRM Foundation Award 2010 State Council ChampionThe Oklahoma State Council for Human Resource Management has achieved the “State Council Champions” designation! This special honor recognizes exceptional support for the SHRM Foundation in 2010. The SHRM Foundation is very grateful for the Council's commitment, leadership and generous contributions. OKHR will be highlighted on the SHRM Foundation website and in the annual “Honor Roll” brochure which recognizes all 2010 annual campaign contributors.


SHRM Excel Award

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) has awarded the SHRM Silver Star 2013Oklahoma State Council for Human Resource Management (OKHR) the EXCEL Silver Award for 2013.  

The award is part of the SHRM Affiliate Program for Excellence, which aligns individual states with SHRM.  The award recognizes a state’s accomplishments and strategic activities and initiatives that promote the human resources profession at the local level.

“This recognition is a distinct indication of the state council’s successful partnership with SHRM to serve the networking and professional development needs of human resource professionals and to the advancement of the human resources profession” said J. Robert Carr, senior vice president, membership, marketing & external affairs for SHRM.


SHRM Excel 2011 Silver Award

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) in Alexandria, Va. has awarded the Oklahoma State Council for Human Resource Management (OKHR) the Silver EXCEL Award for its scope of work in 2011.

The EXCEL Award is the recognition component of the SHRM Affiliate Program for Excellence (SHAPE). SHAPE measures include alignment with SHRM’s overall objectives, strategic focus and initiatives as well as promoting the HR profession. This award recognizes outstanding achievements in state council operations and a commitment to providing meaningful programs and services within the state.


SHRM 2010 Bronze Excel award.In 2010, OKHR was awarded the Bronze EXCEL Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievements in state council operations and a commitment to providing meaningful programs and services within the state. By achieving this award, our state council distinguished itself as an outstanding organization dedicated to serving the needs of HR professionals and to the advancement of the human resource management profession. 


Membership Star & Superstar Awards

The Membership Star and Superstar Awards recognize achievement in SHRM membership growth. All chapters and state councils are eligible for this program. Award levels recognize membership growth during the calendar year. Congratulations to the following 2011 winners!

Star Status (0% - 2.9% Membership Growth)

  • Oklahoma SHRM State Council
  • OK City HR Society
  • Tulsa Area HR Association

Superstar Status (3% or Greater SHRM Membership Growth)

  • Enid Chapter SHRM
  • Stillwater Area HRA
  • Southern Oklahoma HR Association
  • Great Plains - SHRM
  • Sooner HR Society
  • Central Oklahoma HR Association


Two Chapters have been awarded the SHRM 2008 Superior Merit Awards.
- Stillwater Area Human Resource Association
- Tulsa Area Human Resource Association
This award recognizes excellence in chapter operations and a commitment to providing meaniful programs and services to its member

Congratulations to the following 2011 Excel Award Winners.


  • Oklahoma City Human Resources Society


  • Muskogee Area HR Association
  • Ponca City Area HR Association
  • Sooner HR Society
  • Tulsa Area HR Association


  • Great Plains - SHRM
  • Stillwater Area HR Association


Page Views: 1

Related Resources

Crowe & Dunlevy